Petfood Recall


I actually wrote this post in December, I think, but due to the fact that somewhere out there there are a multitude of pet foods that should be recalled, I’m leaving it in. Most of them should probably be recalled, not just because of the horrifying things that are in them, but also because of the things that aren’t.

Kroger Co. said yesterday that it is recalling packages of three pet-food brands it sold mostly the South, in 19 states.

The pet foods may contain may contain a poisonous chemical produced by the mold known as aflatoxin. It has been detected in Kroger Value, Pet Pride and Old Yeller brands of dog and cat food. The company doesn’t know how aflatoxin may have ended up in 10 versions of its pet food. Corn, which is now usually the largest ingredient in most pet foods naturally  produces aflatoxin.

Here is a reasonably complete list of affected products:

  • PET PRIDE CAT FOOD, 1
  • 8 LB PET PRIDE TASTY BLEND POULTRY &SEAFOOD CAT FOOD, 3.5 LB
  • PET PRIDE CAT FOOD, 3.5 LB , PET PRIDE KITTEN FORMULA FOOD, 3.5 LB
  • KROGER VALUE CAT FOOD, 3 LB  , KROGER VALUE CHUNK DOG FOOD 50LB
  • OLD YELLER CHUNK DOG FOOD, 50 LB
  • PET PRIDE TASTY BLEND POULTRY &SEAFOOD, 18 LB
  • KROGER VALUE CHUNK DOG FOOD, 15 LB
  • OLD YELLER CHUNK DOG FOOD, 22 LB 

There is also a huge list of human foods and drugs on the list as well, so you may want to check the Kroger website

About Pet Helper Products

I have a degree in human nutrition, and sadly, began to realize in the late 1980s that I was killing my pets with the pet food that I was feeding them, some of it prescription, that vets had not only prescribed, but told me that the animal in question was to have no table scraps, no human food of any sort, and no other petfood. It was a long, cruel and horrible death, in the case of a dearly loved dog, and I lost more than one cat in a similar manner. When I realized this. When the light finally dawned, I began, in the mid-1990s to read every book I could get my hands on, both American and Canadian, and what I learned truly horrified me. I began to make petfood, for both dogs and cats that I sold at a local farmer's market. The need to freeze it in order to sell it commercially, although they do that in some areas of the country now, was what started me on my quest to develop a product to enable pet owners to make healthy, nutritious, cheap petfood at home that will keep their animals out of the vet's office and out of the hands of the extremely lucrative petfood and pet pharmaceuticals industries.
This entry was posted in Cat Health, Cat Health, Cats, Dog Health, Dog Health, Dogs, Home-made Pet Food, pet diseases, Pet Health, Pets and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Petfood Recall

  1. No name says:

    Do you understand copy right laws you a photo that isn’t yours.

Leave a comment